Department History

In 1965, the La Vergne Fire and Police Department, Inc. was founded by A.C. Wintermeyer and James Gafford as a privately owned company. They served the unincorporated area of La Vergne and portions of Rutherford County faithfully until 1972, when the city was established and began providing police services.

Station #42 was built in 1996 on Waldron Road near I-24. 

Station #43 was built in 2005 on Bill Stewart Boulevard.

Wintermeyer and Gafford continued to provide fire services to the City of La Vergne until December 31, 2013, when the city implemented its own municipal fire and rescue department. Ricky McCormick was named the first City of La Vergne fire chief.

In 2015, the fire department reached ISO Rating 3.

Chief McCormick passed away in 2018. 

Chris Clark was selected to serve as fire chief in 2019.

Ronny Beasley was named fire chief in 2020.

In June 2022, the fire administration building on Old Nashville Highway was demolished to make way for a new Fire Station #41 and is expected to replace the current station #41 on Stones River Road. The old station #41 is the original station that was owned and operated by the private fire company. 

In November 2022, the department plans to break ground on the new fire station.

Fire Department Logo